Skip to content

BCS qualifications approved by Ofqual

Cyber qualifications

12:00 Wednesday, 13 January 2021

UK Cyber Security Council

The Essential Digital Skills Qualifications (EDSQ) run by BCS, the British Computer Society, have been approved by Ofqual, the regulator for qualifications, examinations and assessments in England.

The national standard for essential digital skills covers five areas: using devices and handling information; creating and editing; communicating; transacting; and being safe and responsible online. It was launched by the Department for Education in April 2019.

There are two levels to the EDSQ: the Entry level is aimed at adults who have little or no previous experience with technology, digital devices or the internet; Level 1 builds on the content of the Entry level, and targets adults who have some experience with digital devices, but who do not have secure basic digital skills. For example: where the Entry level looks at recognising problems and seeking support, Level 1 teaches the student to diagnose issues and use FAQs and online devices to seek solutions; similarly while the Entry level teaches awareness of online security risks and threats, Level one extends to how one can protect against such threats.

The national standard is available on the UK Government web site; check the BCS website for Entry level and Level 1 specifications.